Board & Management


Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Farmer is a UK based, highly experienced mining executive. He served as Chief Executive Officer of Lonmin, the third largest platinum miner globally, between 2008 and 2012, where he oversaw a period of significant transformation, both operationally and financially. During his 26 years at Lonmin and its parent company Lonrho, Mr Farmer held various other financial and strategic positions, including Chief Strategy Officer from 2006-2008.

Mr Farmer led the acquisition of various junior mining projects and integrated them into the group. He has been a Non-Executive Director of The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust in the UK since 2014, and previously was a Non-Executive Director of VTTI Energy Partners LP (2014 – 2017). Ian Farmer is considered to be an independent Director.


Managing Director C.Eng FIMMM

A highly experienced international mining executive with over 35 years mining management and director level experience. He has successfully built and managed large mining operations in Europe and Africa. Importantly, Dr Gilchrist has significant experience in potash mining, processing and marketing and is based in Europe.

He was General Manager and Operations Director for Cleveland Potash Limited (UK) now part of the Israel Chemicals group. From 2011 to 2014, he was a Non-Executive Director of South Boulder Mines (now Danakali Ltd) managing feasibility work on the Colluli potash project in Eritrea. More recently he has acted as Project Manager and adviser to Circum Minerals on their Ethiopian potash project. Chris Gilchrist is not considered to be an independent Director.


Non-Executive DirectorB(Civil) Eng, MBA

Len Jubber was Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of Bannerman Resources Ltd, an ASX listed uranium development company for eight years. Prior roles include Managing Director/Chief Executive of Perilya Ltd, an ASX listed zinc and lead producer, and Chief Operating Officer of Oceana Gold Ltd. He started his career with Rio Tinto in Namibia. In a mining career spanning more than 30 years, he brings a wealth of technical, commercial and corporate experience. Len Jubber is considered to be an independent Director.


Non-Executive DirectorPhD, MSc, Drs

Dr Koopmans spent 15 years in investment banking, based in London. He was responsible globally for public equity raising for natural resource companies at Deutsche Bank and he led the European equity capital markets team at Jefferies International. In the 1990’s, Reinout was a management consultant with McKinsey & Co in Germany and South-East Asia. He has significant business experience in Germany. Reinout has a PhD and Masters degree from the London School of Economics, and a degree from Erasmus University, Rotterdam.

Dr Koopmans is a Member of South Harz Potash’s Nomination Committee and the Chairman of South Harz Potash’s Remuneration Committee. Reinout Koopmans is considered to be an independent Director.


Non-Executive DirectorBCom

Mr Rory Luff is a current Non-Executive Director of South Harz Potash Limited. He is the founder of BW Equities, a specialist Melbourne equities advisory firm and has over 15 years experience in the financial services industry. Rory has spent most of his career in the financial markets advising resources companies on capital raisings and financial markets strategy.

Rory Luff is Chair of South Harz Potash’s Nomination Committee and a Member of South Harz Potash’s Audit & Risk Committee and Remuneration Committee. Rory Luff is not considered to be an independent Director.


Non-Executive Director

Mr Plaggemars is an experienced company director with a deep knowledge of corporate finance, strategy and governance. He has served on numerous boards in a variety of industries which includes Delphi Unternehmensberatung who are a substantial shareholder in South Harz Potash Limited. Mr Plaggemars is resident in Germany and has deep experience of corporate and capital markets in Europe.

Mr Plaggemars is Chair of South Harz Potash’s Audit & Risk Committee and a Member of South Harz Potash’s Nomination Committee. Hansjoerg Plaggemars is considered to be an independent Director.

Senior Management



Chief Operating Officer – MSc, BSc, CSci, MIMMM

A geologist by training with 30 years of experience in the mining industry. Jason has worked extensively in Europe, Australia, the Middle East and Africa. His previous role was as in-country MD for Allana Potash Corp in Ethiopia where he established the exploration team taking the project through a full resource drill-out and definitive feasibility study. He is the Chief Operating Officer of South Harz Potash Limited. Residing in Europe, Mr Wilkinson is responsible for planning and implementing South Harz Potash’s potash evaluation program.


Chief Financial Officer – BSc, FCA

Andrew Robertson is a UK Chartered Accountant and Economics graduate. He has previously been CFO at Board level of two AIM listed and two TSX listed companies- Ecometals Ltd (manganese), African Eagle PLC (nickel), White Tiger Gold, Maple Minerals Canada (lead/zinc) and Laporte PLC based in Germany. In his career spanning over 30 years, he has accumulated significant experience in project evaluation and fund raising – both equity and debt, business efficiency and restructuring steps, and implementation and improvements in financial controls and reporting.


Head of Administration, Permits and Technical Coordination – Dipl.-Geol.

Sabine is a graduate of Geology from the Friedrich-Schiller-University in Jena, Germany. She has previous experience in Potash in Thuringia, and has many years working for an engineering office specialising in planning and mine surveying for mining companies. Sabine assumes the function of Head of Administration, Permits and Technical Coordination for Südharz Kali GmbH, and was significantly involved in the preparation of operating plans for this year’s drilling, resource and technical and economic studies.


Head of Politics, Media & Public Relations

Frauke is a political scientist (M.A.) and has many years of experience in numerous internationally active groups. Her main areas of expertise are in strategy, transformation, communication and public affairs, which she has managed at corporate level in various industries including potash mining, transport, energy and large-scale plant construction. At South Harz Potash, Frauke is responsible for corporate communications, politics and public affairs.


Company Secretary

Graeme Smith is an experienced finance professional with over 30 years’ experience in accounting, corporate governance and company administration. He is a Fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants, the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators and the Governance Institute of Australia.

Subscribe to our email newsletter to receive the latest news and updates
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.